Omar Apollo shares new track ‘Hit Me Up’ featuring Dominic Fike + touring Australia for Laneway Festival in 2020

November 8, 2019

On the heels of his Spanish debut ‘Frío‘, Omar Apollo shares a new song. ‘Hit Me Up‘ is a sunny ode to unrequited love, a fiery assist from burgeoning pop star Dominic Fike and infectious production from Kenny Beats propelling the song further. The track was featured on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 radio show on Apple Music earlier today follows Omar’s late-night television debut on Late Night with Seth Meyers last week, where he performed an energetic rendition of his standout track ‘Ashamed.’

Hit Me Up‘ arrives in the midst of Omar’s second North American headlining tour of 2019. The Speed of Sound tour will see him perform eighteen shows across the country, with a two-night residency at The Fonda Theatre in Los Angeles, as well as shows in Chicago, Toronto, and New York, with stops at Tyler, The Creator’s Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival and Tropicalía Festival. At the top of the year, he’ll be heading to Australia for the very first time. In addition to the already announced Laneway Festival dates, Omar Apollo will also play his debut headline shows in Sydney and Melbourne, presented by Astral People, Handsome Tours and Laneway Presents. Support will come from the 19-year old R&B singer/producer, Stevan.

Prior to the two singles, Omar released his latest EP Friends, which showcases the seamless versatility he carved out on previously-released singles ‘Friends,’ ‘Ashamed,’ and ‘Trouble,’ culminating in a vibrant and thoughtful body of work. On the project, the first-generation Mexican-American singer fluidly channels elements of jazz, R&B, funk, alternative, soul and pop music through his own lens, cementing his stance as one of 2019’s breakout stars. 

After introducing himself in 2018 with his critically-acclaimed debut EP Stereo, Omar has continued to ascend as an undeniable talent to watch. Rolling Stone named him an Artist You Need To KnowPitchfork featured him as a Rising artist and Youtube announced him as part of this year’s Foundry international artist development program, with past alumni including Cuco, ROSALÍA, Gunna, Chloe X Halle, and Dua Lipa. 

Hit Me Up‘ featuring Dominic Fike is out now, buy/stream it here.

OMAR APOLLO WORLD TOUR DATES
Tue 5 Nov – The Fonda Theatre – Los Angeles, CA
Wed 6 Nov – The Fonda Theatre – Los Angeles, CA
Thu 7 Nov – The Observatory North Park – San Diego, CA
 Sat 9 Nov – Camp Flog Gnaw Carnival – Los Angeles, CA
Sun 10 Nov – Tropicalia Festival – Pico Rivera, CA
Tue 12 Nov – The Lowbrow Palace – El Paso, TX
Thu 14 Nov – Canton Hall – Dallas, TX
Fri 15 Nov – The Mohawk – Austin, TX
Sat 16 Nov – White Oak Music Hall – Houston, TX
Tue 19 Nov – Badaboum – Paris, FR
Thu 21 Nov – The Blue Arrow Club – Glasgow, UK
Fri 22 Nov – Night People – Machester, UK
Sun 23 Nov – Belgrave Music Hall – Leeds, UK
Tue 25 Nov – Exchange – Bristol, UK
Wed 26 Nov – Green Door Store – Brighton, UK
Thu 27 Nov – Heaven – London, UK
Thu 5 Dec – Concord Music Hall – Chicago, IL
Fri 6 Dec – Art Theater – Hobart, IN
Sat 7 Dec – Danforth Music Hall – Toronto, ON
Tue 10 Dec – Paradise Rock Club, Boston, MA
Thu 12 Dec – Brooklyn Steel – Brooklyn, NY
Fri 13 Dec – 9:30 Club – Washington, DC
Sun 15 Dec – Terminal West – Atlanta, GA
Wed 29 Jan – Corner Hotel, Melbourne, VIC
Wed 5 Feb – Oxford Art Factory, Sydney, NSW

Also appearing nationally at Laneway Festival
Tickets available at omarapollo.com

PRAISE FOR OMAR APOLLO

“A triple threat of an artist with plenty to offer”
Pitchfork

“A versatile, multi-faceted artist”
Dazed

“Omar Apollo is ready for take off”
LNWY.CO

“A universally appealing artist not be to grouped in with a niche new wave.”
Pigeons & Planes

“sleek, soulful, heartache-infused love songs”
NPR 

“lovelorn songs that reconcile the sultry sounds of D’Angelo, Prince, and Frank Ocean with Mexican soul and traditional corridos” 
Rolling Stone

Stay connected with Omar Apollo
Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter