Caroline Polachek shares first new song of 2022 ‘Billions’

February 10, 2022

ALONGSIDE B-SIDE REWORK OF ONEOHTRIX POINT NEVER’S ‘LONG ROAD HOME’

APPEARING ON FLUME’S NEW LP PALACES OUT MAY 20 + SUPPORTING DUA LIPA ON US TOUR + PERFORMING AT COACHELLA

Photo by Nedda Asfari
PRAISE FOR CAROLINE POLACHEK

“One of the greatest musicians of our time”
i-D

In its highest register, Caroline Polachek’s voice sounds like it
might have slipped loose from the circuits of a synthesiser”

NPR

“Love songs about the moment of surrender, the pain preceding it, and the euphoria after”
Pitchfork

Polachek’s constant evolutionary drive within indie, pop and electronica is unlike that
of many other musicians in the commercial public sphere

Pilerats

“Superbly put-together pop record… that hits like a southpaw’s hook”
The Guardian ★★★★ (4/5)

“Playful experimentalism and dazzling vocals”
NME ★★★★ (4/5)

“An impressive pop record”
 Paste ★★★★★★★★ (8/10)

“One of the most captivating records of the year”
Clash Magazine ★★★★★★★★★ (9/10)

Caroline Polachek returns today with the release of her highly-anticipated new psych-pop single ‘Billions’LISTEN HERE +WATCH HERE.

Producedby Danny L Harle and Polachek, the song is a sprawling, kaleidoscopic odyssey that crescendos with a transcendent children’s chorus performed by London’s renowned Trinity Choir. On the record, Polachek says: “The overabundance of this world overwhelms me. Sometimes it seems like ultimate tragedy, the earth being pillaged and destroyed for it. Sometimes it seems pre-human, beyond morality, sublime. I don’t pick sides, I just live here, with you. How does it feel, being so rich?”

Fans of Polachek will be instantly familiar with the song after its frequent appearance in her live performances last year. Described as “oceanic and potent” by The New Yorker, ‘Billions‘ is accompanied by a visual co-directed by Polachek and her frequent visual collaborator Matt Copson.

This week, Caroline also kicks off her 28-date supporting gigon Dua Lipa’s Future Nostalgia tour (alongside Megan Thee Stallion and Lolo Zouaï), and will be playing Coachella festival in April. Plus Flume recently announced Caroline’s appearance on his forthcoming album, Palaces out on May 20, joining features from Damon Albarn, MAY-AKUČKA, and more.

Last year, Polachek embarked on a headlining tour and made festival appearances at the Governors BallPitchfork Music FestivalOutside Lands, and more. Her recent live performances have garnered praise from PitchforkBrooklyn Vegan, and more. To top it off, Polachek is dropping a 7″ single, featuring ‘Billions‘and a new rework of ‘Long Road Home‘ her collaboration with Oneohtrix Point Never, originally released as the lead single off of his 2021 album MagicSpecial-edition translucent red vinyl is now available for pre-order HERE

Polachek’s 2019 breakthrough album, PANG,earned her a late-night television debut on Jimmy Kimmel Live!, an appearance on The Late Night Show with James Corden,and praise from NPRPitchforkThe FADERPasteNYLONVICE, with Dazed naming it the #1 album of 2019. Lead single ‘So Hot You’re Hurting My Feelings‘ has amassed +51M global streams to date and continues to gain momentum 3 years later, entering the Billboard Rock & Alternative charts in January 2022 and igniting a dance trend on TikTok. ‘Bunny Is A Rider‘, her first original release in 2021 following 2019’s PANG, landed atop multiple year-end lists and was crowned #1 Best Song of 2021 by Pitchfork.’Billions‘ provides a first glimpse of what’s to come from Caroline Polachek this year. 

Billions‘ is out now, buy/stream it here.

 ‘Billions/Long Road Home’
Special Edition 7″
PRE-ORDER HERE

TOUR DATES
Wed 9 Feb – Miami, FL @ FTX Arena*
Fri 11 Feb – Orlando, FL @ Amway Center*
Sat 12 Feb – Atlanta, GA @ State Farm Arena*
Mon 14 Feb – Nashville, TN @ Bridgestone Arena*
Wed 16 Feb – Charlotte, NC @ Spectrum Center*
Fri 18 Feb – Boston, MA @ TD Garden*
Sat 19 Feb – Philadelphia, PA @ Wells Fargo Center* 
Tue 22 Feb – Montreal, QC @ Centre Bell*
Wed 23 Feb – Toronto, ON @ Scotiabank Arena* 
Fri 25 Feb – Detroit, MI @ Little Caesars Arena*
Sat 26 Feb – Columbus, OH @ Schottenstein Center* 
Tue 1 Mar – New York, NY @ Madison Square Garden* 
Wed 2 Mar – Washington, DC – Capital One Arena*
Fri 4 Mar – Newark, NJ @ Prudential Center*
Sat 5 Mar – Buffalo, NY @ KeyBank Center* 
Tue 8 Mar – Minneapolis, MN @ Target Center* 
Wed 9 Mar – Chicago, IL @ United Center*
Sat 12 Mar – Houston, TX @ Toyota Center* 
Sun 13 Mar – Dallas, TX @ American Airlines Center*
Tue 15 Mar – Denver, CO @ Ball Arena*
Thu 17 Mar – Tulsa, OK @ BOK Center*
Sun 20 Mar – Phoenix, AZ @ Footprint Center*
Tue 22 Mar – Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum*
Fri 25 Mar – Las Vegas, NV @ T-Mobile Arena* 
Sun 27 Mar – San Jose, CA @ SAP Center*
Tue 29 Mar – Portland, OR @ Moda Center* 
Thu 31 Mar – Seattle, WA @ Climate Pledge Arena* 
Fri 1 Apr – Vancouver, BC @ Rogers Arena*
Sat 16 Apr – Indio, CA @ Coachella Music and Arts Festival 
Sat 23 Apr – Indio, CA @ Coachella Music and Arts Festival 

*supporting Dua Lipa

Tickets are available HERE

Stay connected with Caroline Polachek:
Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

ABOUT CAROLINE POLACHEK

With her seminal record PANG, Caroline Polachek established herself as a formidable vocalist and producer, critically acclaimed by tastemakers across the globe as a pop music visionary. In its wake, Caroline etched new layers to her artistry with each remix, cover, and collaboration that in her career thus far, extends to working with BeyonceTravis ScottHayley Williams, Blood OrangeToro y Moi, Charli XCXA.G. Cookumru, longtime collaborative partner Danny L Harle and more. With each creative step, Polachek continues to shapeshift, bridging together the indie, pop, and electronic worlds all at once.